Planning and Building

Welcome to the Planning and Building Department web pages

Hours of operation: Monday – Friday 8 am - 4 pm

 

Our vision is to be a trusted, valued and respected resource; a department that preserves and fosters our community character, while being firm, fair, and consistent in our duties.

 

The Department of Planning and Building performs the following functions and services:

  • Staff to the Advisory Plan Commission, the Board of Zoning Appeals, and the Historic Board of Review.
  • Review requests and issue permits for development plans, conditional uses, variances, new building construction and remodeling, signs, and demolition.
  • Inspect construction of buildings.
  • Maintain and enforce compliance with Building and Zoning Codes.
  • Administer compliance with State of Indiana requirements for grants and Indiana Main Street.

 cip logo

Use the link below to view the projects proposed in the Capital Improvement Plan. Planning staff are looking for your feedback in determining which five projects should be the top priority for our department over the next few years so that we can include them in grant proposals such as our Stellar Communities application. If you would like to provide feedback, please send your five selections or comments to Jenna Wertman, Associate Planner at jwertman@greenfieldin.org.

 


Staff Directory

Joanie Fitzwater Planning Director jfitzwater@greenfieldin.org 317-325-1329
Jenna Wertman Assoc Planner jharbin@greenfieldin.org> 317-325-1333
Jennifer Frye Admin jfrye@greenfieldin.org 317-477-4320
Summer Grinstead Permit Technician sgrinstead@greenfieldin.org 317-325-1324
Erikk Knapp Building Inspector eknapp@greenfieldin.org 317-325-1323
Donna Butler Building Inspector dbutler@greenfieldin.org 317-325-1320

 


Housing Discussion April 2017

 


Pre-Proposal Meeting for City Code Update Project

Contact City Planning and Building

Address: 10 S. State St.
Greenfield, 46140
Telephone: 317-477-4320
Fax: 317-477-4321

Planning Public Hearing Calendar

Historic Board of Review Meeting
Thu Sep 6th 2018, 4:00pm -
Advisory Plan Commission Meeting
Mon Sep 10th 2018, 7:00pm -