Planning and Building

Welcome to the Planning and Building Department web pages

Hours of operation: Monday – Friday 8 am - 4 pm

 

Our vision is to be a trusted, valued and respected resource; a department that preserves and fosters our community character, while being firm, fair, and consistent in our duties.

 

The Department of Planning and Building performs the following functions and services:

  • Staff the Advisory Plan Commission, the Board of Zoning Appeals, and the Historic Board of Review.
  • Review requests and issue permits for development plans, conditional uses, variances, new building construction and remodeling, signs, and demolition.
  • Inspect construction of buildings.
  • Maintain and enforce compliance with Building and Zoning Codes.
  • Administer compliance with State of Indiana requirements for grants and Indiana Main Street.
  • Collaborate with Fortville and Hancock County as part of the Indiana Stellar Health and Heritage Region to promote the health, heritage, and heart of the area. 

 

cip logo

Use the link below to view the final Capitol Improvement Plan.

 

 


Staff Directory

Joanie Fitzwater Planning Director jfitzwater@greenfieldin.org 317-325-1329
Monica Evans Admin mevans@greenfieldin.org 317-477-4320
Evan Beaty Senior Planner ebeaty@greenfieldin.org 317-325-1324
Erikk Knapp Building Commissioner eknapp@greenfieldin.org 317-325-1323
Donna Butler Building Inspector dbutler@greenfieldin.org 317-325-1320
Andrew Adkins Building Inspector aadkins@greenfieldin.org 317-325-1334

 

Contact City Planning and Building

Address: 10 S. State St.
Greenfield, 46140
Telephone: 317-477-4320
Fax: 317-477-4321

Planning Public Hearing Calendar

Historic Board of Review Meeting
Thu Dec 1st 2022, 4:00pm -
Advisory Plan Commission Meeting
Mon Dec 12th 2022, 7:00pm -
Board of Zoning Appeals Meeting
Thu Dec 15th 2022, 7:00pm -

City Phone Directory

Mayor's Office - 317-477-4300
Clerk Treasurer - 317-477-4310
Customer Service - 317-477-4330
Planning (Permits) - 317-477-4320
Street Department - 317-477-4380
Power and Light - 317-477-4370
Wastewater Department - 317-477-4360
Park Cemetery - 317-477-4387
Pothole Hotline - 317-325-1680
Parks and Recreation - 317-477-4340
Water Department - 317-477-4350
Animal Management - 317-477-4367